Bilbao International Logo

Universities of Biscay

Universities in Biscay:

- University of Basque Country

- University of Deusto

The University of the Basque Country


The University of the Basque Country/Euskal Herriko Unibertsitatea constitutes the fruits of a long series of attempts throughout history to ensure that the Basque Country has a university that meets the many needs demanded of a dynamic and modern society.

It took on its current form in 1980 based on the previous former University of Bilbao and inspired by the Basque University of 1936. It adopted an emblem designed by Eduardo Chillida, into which it incorporated a well-known verse by Iparragirre -Eman ta zabal zazu- which alludes to the universal vocation of Basque culture. It is responsible for 70% of the research carried out in the Basque Country and has so far awarded over a quarter of a million qualifications in the most diverse areas of knowledge.

Divided up into three campuses -one in each of the historic territories that make up the Basque Autonomous Community- the UPV/EHU makes a firm contribution to life in the Basque Country to the extent that things today would be inconceivable without the day-to-day work carried out by this institution or even without the valuable and intense intellectual debate generated around it.

The University of the Basque Country brings together every day over 50,000 people from the world of research and teaching among its teaching staff, students and additional support staff, and continues to offer a wide variety of degree and postgraduate courses in Basque, Spanish and English. The UPV/EHU has two specific centers in Bilbao, one devoted to science and technology and the other to economics and law.


The UPV/EHU has led the way in joining forces with the Fundación Donostia International Physics Center (DiPC) and Tecnalia Corporacion Tecnológica to create a core centre for training, research, knowledge transfer and innovation via EUSKAMPUS. This is a centre of international importance and the aim is to ensure that this new concept of campus becomes the cornerstone of Basque social and economic transformation.

EUSKAMPUS aspires to become the driving force behind the economic transformation of the Basque Country a reference point in teaching, science and technology within the Atlantic Axis of Europe and a model in terms of territorial development. “One University, One Country, One Campus” is the motto that has guided the conception of this project.

The project focuses on three areas of specialization, three areas because these are able to increase the synergies among the institutions that have joined it and because they have a great potential to influence social wellbeing and an improvement in quality of life. The areas are:

1. Sustainable ecosystems and environmental technologies.

2. Innovative processes and new materials.

3. Ageing and quality of life.

These are the main strategic areas in which EUSKAMPUS will focus its field of activity. This all-encompassing, flexible and dynamic project is founded on the strong points of the result of bringing together the following areas: material physics, chemistry and robotics. It should be recalled that the three institutions that have now joined forces account for over 95% of the scientific production generated in the Basque Autonomous Community.

Last July 2010, EUSKAMPUS became one of the projects selected with maximum funding as part of the “Campus of International Excellence” official announcement made by the Ministry of Education, which in turn forms part of the 2015 University Strategy. This was possible owing to the conception of a project that is both serious in its intent and attractive, and one which has been committed from the outset to joining forces, specialization, differentiation and internationalization.

Links to Bizkaia faculties

Go to University of Deusto ->